14:14, Friday, 15 August, 2014

Viktor Ambartsumian International Prize has been established by the President of Armenia in 2009 and at
     present is one of the important awards in astronomy/astrophysics and related sciences. It is being awarded to
     outstanding scientists from any country and nationality having significant contribu-tion in science. The Prize
     totals USD 500, 000 and since 2010 is being awarded once every two years.
     The International Steering Committee (ISC) consists of 9 outstanding scientists: Radik Martirosyan
     (President of the Armenian National Academy of Sciences, Armenia, Chair), Gennady Bisnovatyi-Kogan
     (Russia), Catherine Cesarsky (Past IAU President, France), Norio Kaifu (IAU President, Japan), Michel
     Mayor (Switzerland), Vahe Petrosian (USA), Martin Rees (UK), Yervant Terzian (USA), and Robert
     Williams (Past IAU President, USA) .
     March 18 was the deadline for nominations, and ISC received nominations from national academies of
     sciences, universities, and observatories for 7 outstanding scientists and teams from different countries. After
     a thorough study of the nominated works, as well as independent referees’ reports, the Committee had
     several discussions and finally it was decided to share the Prize between
     Prof. Felix Aharonian (Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies, Ireland and Max Planck Institute for Nuclear
     Physics, Heidelberg, Germany), nominated by Academia Nazionale Dei Lincei (Italy) for "outstanding
     contributions to the field of high energy astrophysics and to the physics of cosmic accelerators, and leading
     role in the development of the stereoscopic system of Cherenkov telescopes"and
     Prof. Igor Karachentsev (Special Astrophysical Observatory, Russia) and Prof. Brent Tully (Institute of
     Astronomy, University of Hawaii, USA) nominated by the Special Astrophysical Observatory (Russia) for
     "their fundamental contribution in the cosmology of the Local Universe".
     The Prize will be shared between these two nominations, namely Prof. Aharonian will receive USD 250, 000,
     Prof. Karachentsev and Prof. Tully will receive USD 125, 000 each.
     Previous winners were:
     2010 Michel Mayor (Obs. de Genève, Switzerland), Garik Israelian (Instituto de Astrofisica de
     Canarias, Spain), Nuno Santos (Centro de Astrofísica da Universidade do Porto, Portugal)
     2012 Jaan Einasto (Tartu Observatory, Estonia) and Igor Novikov (Astro-Space Center, P.N. Lebedev
     Physics Institute, Russia)

The winners of Viktor Ambartsumian International Prize 2014 were announced at the press-conference held
     at the Armenian National Academy of Sciences on Saturday, July 18. The official award ceremony will take
     place on September 18 in Yerevan.

Promote this post
The article published in the Spokesperson project.
Sign up and publish your articles.
3650 | 0 | 0